The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement:

"A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we can institute this test as a routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, it is stated that incorporating the new medical test as a routine in hospitals as soon as around the world will decrease the death rate. The director of the International Health Foundation has come to this conclusion based on the new medical test, that allows the early detection of the disease. However, before this announcement can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, does the early detection help in curing the disease? The argument assumes that if the disease is diagnosed before six months to a year, it can be cured. It is possible that the disease can’t be cured within this period. Without ruling out this possibility, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, does incorporating the new medical test as a routine procedure in hospitals decrease the death rate? The argument assumes that as soon as the new medical test is incorporated in hospitals, people will be aware of and undergo this test. This might not be the case. People may not know this new test availability in hospitals. Even though if the people are aware, there is a possibility that the test is expensive and people below the poverty line might not be able to afford it. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is much weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If we have answers to the above two questions or have evidence perhaps in the form of systematic study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the announcement that the application of the new medical test in hospitals decreases deaths caused by the disease.