The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memorandum, it is stated that the coverage of weather and local news time should be restored to achieve more viewers and to avoid losing advertising revenues. The business manager has come to this conclusion is based on the increased coverage time of the national news, the number of complaints related to the weather and local news from viewers and the withdrawal of the advertising contracts. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, the arguments assumes that the increased time of national news has an effect on the complaints received regarding weather and local news. It is possible that the complaints are realted the content that they are telecasting. May be the weather reports that are being shown on the news are not accurate or may be the local news is not giving updated city news to the viewers. It might not be necessarily true that the complaints recieved are due the increased coverage of the national news. If either of these cases regarding local and weather news have merit, then the statement doesn't hold water.

Second assumption is that the withdrawal of the advertising contracts is happening because of the less time coverage to local news in the late-night news program. This might not be reason. May be there's a new television channel has come into picture which offers the advertising service at a minimal price or may be the owners of the advertisement company have realised that the local news of this channel is not reaching people as much as they want to. If either of the above is true, the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If we have answers to the above three questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the concluison to restore the time allocated to weather and local news to its former level.