"As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate."

Technology is man's new best friend. We don't see a single person in his/her daily life who doesn't take the benefit of it. When it comes to the given claim that it is deteriorating human thinking ability, I would say YES to some extent and NO as well for 2 reasons.

Of course, technology is making people's life easier and faster but depending on it for each small thing is making things unknowingly worse to an individual indirectly. Technology is not only decreasing the human ability to think, it is also making people lazy. Since there's so much advancement in technology lately, it is accessible to anyone who has smart phones or who can afford an internal connection with minimal bandwidth. Now a days, people are using calculators to do the simple calculation of 6 multiplied by 7 instead of using their brain or ordering food from a restaurant in 100 meters radius instead of walking. There's nothing wrong with using what is widely and openly available but the extent of the usage is what matters.

On the other hand, how do we have so much innovations in the recent years, if the human thinking ability was decreased due to technology? In fact, if not anything else, it is making people to put more effort and hard work, to be competitive in the market or bring new solutions to the problem in the world.

Based on the above explanations, there's no straight answer to this claim since the issue is very complex and there are no easy answers.