"As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate."

The assertion that reliance on technology will surely deteriorate our ability to solve problems brings polarizing thoughts - both for and against. However, I feel that it is human acumen, deep insights, rational and innovative thinking in the first place which engenders a new technology. The topic in discussion asks us to first understand what we mean by technology because its wide purview has the power to encompass a motley of objects. Technology, in my perspective, is use of the latest human knowledge to improve or solve an existing problem faced by mankind. Moving from sluggish, inefficient automobiles of early twentieth century to bristling aeroplanes of the twenty first century to expedite our travels is an example of technology in the field of locomotion.

To begin with, the negative effects of technology on human brain is not mere fiction. It has been proven that since the advent of calculators, the part of the brain designed to deal with mathematics and shrunk and continues to do. Another example to discard technology and demonstrates its deleterious effect on our brain is the mobile phones. It is a common complaint of the millennial that cannot remember the phone numbers of their friends or relatives. I remember losing my phone on a holiday and in spite of all my desperate attempts to recall a number to contact a friend for help, I simply couldn’t recall any.

It is easy to carry a myopic view and declare that technology is a bane for our society, an evil which needs to be done away with, to help mankind realise its true cognitive power. Notwithstanding all the negatives of the technology discussed earlier, we need to have a holistic view of the way technology has been able to change our lives for good and in fact improved the thinking and reasoning skills of humans. To take an example of how our thinking power has only been accentuated by the products of technology, we can talk about the abacus. Abacus is a tool used in primary school to teach counting to children. Children go on to learn advanced tricks on the abacus, enabling them to do mental calculations within seconds, which would have normally needed no less than a minute for a human with a pen and a paper.

Technology has also facilitated communication among human beings and brought a plethora of information at their fingertips which can assist them in making a correct and independent decision which would not have been possible in the absence of the groundbreaking technology of the internet. It has enabled easy exchange of ideas and information, thereby, pushing humans beyond their comfort zone to come with ideas out of the box to set the world in awe.

To summarise, it is without denying that technology has negatively affected the cognitive power of humans but only to open a whole new possibility for us to think differently, rationally and come up with ideas or thoughts that were never heard before to take the world by storm.