In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author has made a rather bold statement by declaring that water sports in the Mason City would undoubtedly and inevitably increase if the authorities act on the complaints of the denizens of Mason City and clean the stinking and dirty Mason River. On the first glance, this argument seems rather immune to any criticism but a closer look reveals an assortment of faulty assumptions supporting the claim, rendering the entire claim to be precarious and standing on wobbly grounds.

The main issue with the argument is having an unquestionable claim on the acceptance of a cleaned Mason River for water sports by the civilians. What if the existing spots of water sports are at the heart of the city and offer facilities and accoutrements which even a sparkling Mason River cannot offer. Location of such places play a vital role in their popularity as no one likes to travel long distances regularly. Moreover, the efficacy of city park department would play a vital role in deciding how quickly they are able to clean an entire river fit for water sports. What if the department is full of feckless people who delay all their work and do not like anything which is not perfunctory? Even though the state has announced that the cleaning of Mason River but have not mentioned a deadline which only supports my above claim.

With all the thought-provoking questions which can easily put the city government planning to devote extra money to the budget of riverside recreational facilities in quandary is another flagrantly specious claim of water sports being one of the favorites among the denizens. No information has been provided on the scope of the survey – how many people participated, what was the range of their age, the sex ratio of the participants and other critical statistical information required to form an unflagging opinion of the masses. What if the survey fails to cover 1 percent of the population? It is also important to draw a line between a wish and a will to act. What if the citizens love the idea of a clean Mason River where they could enjoy water sports but are reluctant to actually visit a new place and abandon the one in which they currently boat, swim or go fishing. How many people wish to have a slender, svelte body and how many of them actually hit the gym daily and act on it? Well, all of us would love to be healthy but hardly anyone goes to the gym regularly. In addition to all this, if the department of has decided to take action after so many complaints from the people, it is unlikely that people would actually put their trust on anything which the government does and continue with their usual spots without ever trying out the Mason River for water sports.

To conclude, I feel the city government should take the results of the survey with a grain of salt and ask for more comprehensive and thorough survey. It is also important to ensure that the river is not flowing in some hinterland of Mason City and is inaccessible to most of the people for regular use. Therefore, the government needs to deliberate on this issue further and take any action only on the basis of evidences which are more concrete.