If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

If there is anything that I would like to change about my hometown, it would be to get the new Steel manufacturing industry closed. I never liked the idea of industry coming to my hometown for the fear of stress on the environment and beginning of many other social problems, which to my horror, have become a sad reality now.

To begin with, the industry is causing a turmoil in the ecological balance of my once beautiful and pristine town. In a span of half a decade, it has managed to remove all the quail birds from the place and I have heard many people complain about the acidic rain which destroyed their crops last year. To add to the misery, this industrial plant is not far from the town and all its toxics and effluents are directly discharged into the main river body, ‘The Loku River’, of my city. Not to forget the constant noise pollution and addition of innumerable and unnecessary vehicles on the road because of it.

While the proponents of the industry try their best to take the public attention away from the detrimental effects the industry has on the environment and try to focus our attention on its success of providing employment and bringing economic prosperity in the town, they fail to paint the complete picture, in most likelihood, on purpose. Our town has enjoyed more than 90% literacy rate since the last two decade and was one of the first town of my state to achieve this. Because of this, people never had difficulty in finding jobs and well-off on their own and needed no assistance, if not intervention, from an industrial plant to boost the employment rate.

Other notable and often complained about phenomenon which the industry brought with it was the concept of ‘load-shedding’. An alien concept before the industry established, it has now become a common accepted problem and people are, unfortunately, trying to live with it. It is sad to see how ephemeral is public-memory because our town enjoyed electricity 24x7 five years back but the immense need for power by the industrial-plant has forced the authorities to distribute electricity judiciously and cut power daily.

To conclude, I am a strong advocate that the industrial plant established in my town should be taken down and the town should be bestowed with the same prosperity it once had a decade ago.