"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

In a business magazine, a writer has asserted that, to be successful, business companies should hire employees who need less than 6 hours of daily sleep. The writer has based his assertion on a recent survey of three hundred advertising executives which showed that profit was inversely proportional to the several hours the executives slept. While the assertion is ostensibly buttressed by the survey, it fails to give a holistic perspective; regrettably, rendering the entire argument standing on wobbly grounds and riddled with flaws.

The primary issue with the argument is its audacity to claim for any business to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This claim is too extreme to be applicable for all the businesses present in the real world. In a domain consisting of millions of people, the result of merely few hundred people does not instill a strong confidence. It is very likely that the sample of people studied, do not represent the general population. Moreover, it is highly likely that the working conditions and an advertising business’ expectation from its employees vary from other companies. It will not be fair to compare an advertising company to a consultancy firm or a construction company. Each of them has their own need and takes a different toll on the person working in it. It has been scientifically proven that lack of sleep affects judgement and adversely impacts decision making in human beings. An executive of some design and innovation firm is far less likely to come up with brilliant, out-of-the-box ideas if he is grumpy and tired because of the lack of sleep.

Secondly, the argument made in the magazine might have misconstrued the result of the survey as the survey says that the most profitable companies’ executives, on average, sleep less than 6 hours. While easy to overlook, one must understand the statistical measure of average is heavily influenced by outliers. What if the most profitable companies’ executive sleeps for 10 hours and someone in the list of “most profitable companies’ executive” sleeps for 2 hours? While the average would still turn out be 6 hours, but the entire basis of the claim turns to dust. It is important to scrutinize each entry in the survey to better understand the scenario.

Moreover, the argument is flagrantly wrong is assuming that the executives are the sole driver of a companies’ profit margins. Running a business is not a one-man show and needs the effort of all the shareholders and employees working in harmony to create a positive and encouraging environment for the business to prosper. No company becomes profitable over-night and needs dedication, persistence and hard-work from everyone, after all, Rome was not built-in a day.

In conclusion, the writer is wrong in making such a strong claim based on such a weak evidence to support it. He has failed to consider many other factors and might well have misinterpreted the implication of the statistical measure used in the survey. Therefore, a more comprehensive survey needs to be done before making a claim as strong and widely applicable as made by the writer.