People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People's behavior has been an intriguing research topic over the years in order to determine what drives behavior, whether that be external or internal forces. The statement claims that people's behavior is largely influenced by external forces, which is true in most cases due to societal expectations of how people should act. From a young age, individuals are taught how they should behave in different situations, including peer groups, professional settings, family environment, etc. However, internal forces do occasionally override preconceived and socially acceptable behaviors.

Take, for example, students in elementary school, who are learning proper classroom etiquette. They are taught to raise their hand when they want to speak or go to the bathroom, treat their peers with kindness and treat their teacher with respect. However, their behavior is completely different during recesses or on the playground, often times much more noisy, rowdy and disrespectful. The juxtaposition between the two behaviors suggests that students' behavior is largely based on the environment or situation they are in. Since they do not have a constant, unchanging behavior pattern throughout different settings, it indicates that external forces dictate how they behave.

However, strong enough internal forces have the ability to determine people's behavior, regardless of their environment. For example, a friend of mine, let's call her Jane for anonymity, has been struggling with anxiety for the past year. She refuses to go out, alienated many friends, and avoids going to class out of fear. In this case, the entirety of Jane's behavior is dictated by strong internal forces of anxiety, despite a welcoming environment created by her friends and social network, suggesting that her behavior is largely determined by forces that she has created. In addition, internal forces can also cause people to behave suddenly irrational. For example, some people impulsively quit their jobs out of anger towards their bosses. Often times this occurs when people feel strong emotions and are unable to contain themselves.

People are taught how to behave appropriately in different situations, which, for the most part, they abide by. The example with the school children shows how individuals learn what is considered appropriate in different settings, and how they change behavior according to their environment. However, when emotions are involved, people tend to act based on internal forces, regardless of what is deemed socially acceptable. This is exemplified by Jane and people who act irrationally based on emotion. Thus, I agree with the claim that people's behaviors are dictated by external forces, in most cases. However, people occasionally forgo what is socially acceptable when it comes to their feelings, and act according to how they are feeling.