The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The faculty committee (FC) has proposed to the President of the Seatown university (Su) that it should offer tuition-free study to children of the faculty members to increase their retention. however, the argument is not cogent enough as it is rife with assumptions.

Firstly, to support their view, fc has presented the case of Oceania university (ou) which offers similar intensive to their professors as well. Here the committee presumes that is the primary reason of lower turnover at ou. it could be that there might be other factors as well. it could be ou might be offering better remuneration and benefits as well. it could be would be providing more opportunity from career-perspective to these teachers as the institute would be more inclined towards research.

Secondly, FC is strongly pressing on the point that tuition-free study should offered to the children of the staff members will help reduce the flux. however, they have not shared any statistics of what percentage of the teachers have children falling in the age relevant bracket. it could be that most of the children are underage or already graduates. Moreover, we are not presented with the subject-range that is being offered at su. it could be su is a specialized school offering very limited programs and it could be only a small proportion of concerned prospective students would aspire to join SU. Under such circumstance, introducing this policy will not achieve the desired results.

Thirdly, fc believes that providing this facility could be the primary reason to retain teaching staff. But this debate is falling short since, we need to first understand the overall situation of fc. Exact reason for lower morale should be discussed. it would be better if some important findings of exist interviews were shared. it could be fc is not a tier one school, thus after gaining some experience initially, teachers might eventually be moving to reputable university with higher ranking. it might be the overall environment not be very comfortable and encouraging for them. some of the Head of Departments might not be really supportive towards them and might be unfair managers. it could be due to workload; the teachers are unable to keep work-live balance or takeout time for their postgraduate/ postdoctoral studies and so are opting for other options.

Lastly, the memo should have also shared about how the financials and aftermath would be managed in future state, provided their proposal in implemented. will this policy influx higher faculty children and less self-finance students? Does the su have enough funds?

It might be true that retaining professors would be priority of the management. however, before they took take any decision, they must consider the above discussed points otherwise they will not be able to achieve the intended results.