The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business Manager (bm) of Happy Pancake House (hph) is trying to neutralize the case of replacement of butter with margarine. The writer has tried to present justification, but the discussion is rife with holes and therefore, not cogent enough.

The hph has replaced butter in recent times and bm’s presumption is that the impact on customers is negligible since only 2 percentage of customers have been complaining regarding the change. Firstly, we need to understand if the concern is being raised by clientele spread on daily, weekly or monthly basis. if this a regular trend, then it may some reach out to other visitors who have noticed this yet. Secondly, has any research being conducted regarding who are these two percentage customers and what history do they maintain with hph. it could be that this are regular and old clients and they might be bringing hph considerable business.

also, the bm has concluded that since every two out of hundred patrons have raised the issue so rest ninety-eight percent are satisfied with the change. however, it is not safe to presume this. it could be that two people who have raised the concern be sitting with, say ten more people and so they might have raised it on collective basis making it twelve rather than two.

regarding serving of margarine when asked for butter, the bm assumes either margarine is acceptable by people or they cannot distinguish between the two products. but it needs to be determined to what level is this true. it could be the patrons feel the difference, but simply do not highlight it to the server. also, it is unethical to sale one item in name of the other and may lead to legal matter later. And it could be the customer might have realized. they might have remained silent, but they may spread the news through word of mouth to others.

since hph has recently made the changes, bm must have shared results of past and recent customer feedback survey to help readers assess the impact of new ingredient.

hph has made replace butter with margarine and it might be true that some of customers must be unaffected. however, to understand the exact situation and reach out to an conclusion regarding how has the clientele welcomed margarine, further details are required as it may lead ruining to existing customer base.