"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

while the bottlenecks on Blue highway (bh) might be an everyday issue faced by locals, the author’s discussion of the two possible solutions and the reason for dismissing one while recommending the other is rife with holes. The rationale presented is not cogent enough since the evidences presented are themselves questionable.

Firstly, the entire debate is initiated on concerns raised by the residents, but the number of complaints received by the government is not shared. Subsequently, the finding of how many of these were lodged by people how travel regularly during the rush-hour is missing. it could be limited residents might have raised multiple complaints and vast majority of them hardly travel on this route or during the concerned slot. these facts are necessary to understand the severity of the problem.

one solution explored is widening of bh which has been suggested by motorists’ lobby. again, we are not sure how many members are impacted by the jam-pack on routine basis. The idea is rejected based on the case of Green highway (gh) where the situation has become worse after implementation of this workaround. However, no logic has been stated by the writer behind how the problem has increased even after addition of a new track. it could be that the overall population has increased after opening of a new housing society in the area or some new workplaces have sprung up in city while extension of gh was in progress. There is another possibility that the tax on cars might have been dropped resulting in purchase of more automobiles. any of these could have contributed in increment in number of vehicles on the road during the peak-time. another persuasive reason could be closing of a patch of gh for maintenance work at one or more points resulting in blockages.

The article recommends introduction of a new dedicated lane for bicycle. The support has been sort by the fact that many dwellers are already inclined towards cycling, thus this will encourage many of them to use cycles over motors. Here, the content falls shorts once again, as it has not been explicitly mentioned if a new track will be constructed on the side of bh or a lane of existing road will be restricted for the purpose. if the latter is the case, the consequences of reducing the space for other transport must be determined. also, no statistics have presented as evidence. we are not sure what percentage of the actual impacted population will be interested in this alternate mode of transport. also, as the entire dilemma is based on time extra time spent in travelling, we are forced to think if the people rushing to urban center would be willing to choose mechanical wheeler over faced-paced engine-driven motor.

A stress-free route is preferred convenience by all, but before executing of any of the proposal, the authorities must take into account different aspect to determine effectiveness. Otherwise, the trouble will persist or even increase.