The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus

making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally,

attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer is trying to pursue the management of Buckingham College (bc) to approve construction of hostels and has presented justification in favor, but the letter is rile with hole and not cogent enough.

The first point made by the writer is that admission are increasing on yearly basis and will reach to 150% of current enrollment in next 5 decades. However, no statistics has been shared regarding how many housing requests have been and what ratio of it was declined due to space limitation. also, it must be taken into account of percentage of student body is comprised by day scholars to determine how many students might need to stay in dorm. Since this is a long-term plan, it must be also considered what percentage of future students will be out-stationed.

it must be noted the building of new dormitories will be expensive. The management needs to determine if it will be feasible to spread the cost of project over period of 50 years. they need to assess that this must impact other programs running or planned to be executed in future due to financial constraints.

The writer has raised the concern that average rent is also on the rise in the city and student are finding it difficult to afford . management needs to decide what will the charges of dorm rooms and will be lower than the current rates of the area. also, it needs to be determine if the student who are finding it difficult to pay charges for their housing, will they be able to afford room in dormitory based on family’s financial condition.

it has also been suggested that new dorm will attract more students. but to admit more students, it need to be assess if the batch size increment is possible accordingly. if bc will not capacity to increase number of admissions synchronous with extended dorm capacity, then additional students will cannot be admitted.

building of new dorms might be need of future of bc, but before any finalize decision could be take different aspects are required to be deterred.