The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

doctor karp has written the article highlighting difference he found in results of his research on tersia’s children and that of doctor field’s, based on which he has claimed dr. fields results were incorrect. moreover, taking this a base, dr. karp has rejected the methodology undertaken by dr. field and has claimed his as superior. however, the argument is not cogent enough and is rife hole and assumption.

Firstly, it must be noticed dr. field. conducted the research two decades earlier. dr. field had stated the entire village was involved in upbringing of the children, whereas dr. karp has concluded only parents have been found undertaking the task. dr. karp interviewed the children and observed they talked about their parents only and consequently, felt if other villagers had that level of significance in their life, they would be discussed during the conversation. however, some points in this claim are not firm. First, it has not been stated anywhere the cultural practices of tersia are same as they were twenty years back. dr. karp has presumed that the same traditions have been preserved till date. His team has not taken interview of the people who might be children when dr. field went to visit the island. Second, we are not sure what were exact questions asked. since tersia is an exotic place, we are not sure if the connotation of words are same of for the residents as for other people. there might be gaps in what the children tried to convey and what the team perceived.

Secondly, dr. karp has concluded observation-based researched of dr. field was flawed and his interview-based method of acquiring data is better. Here, dr. karp taken one case, which seems weak in evaluation, as an example to debase an entire method. dr. karp should have stated some more, elaborated instance to strengthen his argument.

Thirdly, dr. karp is ascertain that his team, consisting of graduate students, will be able to assess the practice of child rearing in tersia and other islands effectively. this is statement has weaken his standing rather than backing it. it can be inferred that his team is still in process of deriving the results, therefore it is too early and unfair to conclude anything at this stage.

Even though there might be disagreements in dr. field’s theory and what has so far discovered by dr. karp’s team, but since the field work has not completed yet, it is too early to reach any decision. moreover, until all the aspects are considered, it is not appropriate idea to overrule any established procedure.