The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has based the entire articles on results of a survey conducted. Now, firstly, we are not sure if the study was carried in all parts of Forsthye or just some specific spots. if the latter is the case, then considering it to be valid for entire city is not a recommendable approach. secondly, it has been inferred from the feedback that the eating habits of the citizens are aligned closely, with government’s nutritional advise, but the question is how closely? it there any an considerable gap? it could be fats, vitamin A and B consumption is as prescribed but the level of sodium in take on lower end by 20% and glucose supply is 10% above the threshold. The apparently, these seem to be slight deviations but how these will impact health, needs to be taken in account, Until detail data of survey is not shared, conclusion cannot be reached. Thirdly, how the survey questions have been designed? has questionnaire developed to cater layman? this very important to determine the effectiveness of the survey. if it contains questions such as ‘what is your weekly consumption of proteins?, a person with very limited biology knowledge might mistaken to believe the rice contains protein and may answer in that context.

To further back the argument, the writer informed the readers that a drastic increase in sales of has been observed in kiran. we understand kiran is good for reduction of cholesterol, but it the advisable intake has not been brought into the picture. secondly, how can we be too sure if the demand of kiran departmental store have increased, people have balance diet. it could be kiran is being eaten by limited group of people. Also, it may be possible that higher amount of kiran may lead to drop of cholesterol level resulting in detrimental effects.

Lastly, the writer has pointed to drop in sales of Sulia, but no information is shared how this can directly related to informed health of the residents.

limiting claim that Forsytle has healthy lifestyle to evidence of a survey, details of which are not available and to increase /decrease in demand of some product in a weak debate. we need to dig in deeper to understand the exact case.