The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles by conforming to government nutritional recommendations, increasing the amount of kiran products that are purchased and reducing sales of sulia. While it may seem like these citizens are living healthy lifestyles based on the author's assumptions, there are clear and faulty assumptions such as an unclear and possible biased survey and skewed quantifiable data.

Firstly, the author claims the citizens of Forsythe adopted a healthy lifestyle based off a survey that was conducted. This survey could have been answered by health and fitness enthusiasts or people who are trying to lose weight. The results of this survey would therefore be largely skewed in favor of a more health conscious population. This would not be vindictive of the Forythse population in general. The author can fix their argument by conducting a survey in the town hall. This would distribute the answers to the survey across the towns population. Therefore showing Forsythe as a health conscious population.

Secondly, including a fourfold increase in kiran products does not necessarily show a population that is health conscious. If the sale of kiran products in Forsyth was originally only 5 items, a fourfold increase would only be a 20 item increase. 20 items that include kiran is not enough to constitute Forsythe as a health conscious town. Also, reducing the amount of cholesterol while it is healthy is not necessarily considered as living a healthy lifestyle. Even if the amount of kerian intake was greatly increased in Forsythe this does not mean it will lead to a healthy lifestyle. One can lower their cholesterol but at the same time increase their blood pressure. Kerian can have this byproduct and therefore be risky for the citizens of Forsythe to consume. The author will have to include a full breakdown of what kerian does to the body as a whole to determine whether or not consuming more kerian will lead to a healthy lifestyle.

Finally, including a reduction of the amount of sulia intake in Forsythe which few healthy citizens eat does not support the author's argument. For one, this reduction can be vastly minimal. It could be that sales were reduced by two percent which is not enough to distribute a healthy population in Forsythe. The author does not include what is detrimental about sulia that would constitute it as bad for your health. Sulia can be a healthy product with a really sour and awful taste which would result in fewer people buying products that contain sulia. If it were a healthy product and people were not buying it because of an awful taste, the authors argument as a whole will crumble. To effectively support this argument, the author would have to include a full description of sulia, and whether it is healthy to the human body or detrimental. A weak link between a reduction of sales and healthy citizens is not enough.

In conclusion, the authors claim that the citizens of Forsythe are now living healthy lives is weak based on the assumptions that they are now adopting government nutritional lifestyles based on a faulty survey, a weak description of kiran and the increase of it experienced and a decrease in a product that was not described.