A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Standardized curriculum in a nation is the best and most effective way for students to learn across the board. There are a plethora of reasons why students should study the same national curriculum until college which include, each student being able to move across the nation and still retain and understand what is being taught in school, it is cost effective for training new and current teachers and finally having a standardized national curriculum will allow teachers to compare students to the national average more effectively.

Growing up as a kid and moving across the country, it became apparent that my math skills were not up to par with the other kids in my grade. Moving from California to New York while in the middle of second grade, the way math was done was completely different than how it was done in New York. This caused my grades to dwindle and I was failing my math class. Eventually I understood how math was being taught in New York but I struggled for a couple of months, grasping the new math I encountered. I then moved to Texas, but during this time a standardized curriculum was already put into place and I was able to understand what was being taught in schools in Texas. The math being taught at the time was the same math that was being taught in New York. Instead of being taken out of class for 15 minutes a day, like what was done in New York, I got to stay in class and learn like the rest of the students. Having a standardized curriculum greatly helped me understand what was being taught, regardless of where I was at in the nation. If it weren't for the standardized curriculum I would have most likely been held back a couple of grades.

Secondly, standardizing curriculum will be beneficial for teachers.Training teachers will be cost effective since most materials can be shared throughout the nation which will most likely mean materials will be mass produced. Mass producing an item will reduce the price for said item since there is more of it readily available. Teachers will no longer have to worry and stress about buying expensive materials for their classrooms. Instilling a national curriculum will also allow teachers to be trained faster and easier. Say a teacher moves from Arizona to Oregon. Without a national curriculum, the teacher would have to learn how the curriculum is taught in the new state. Also, they will not be effectively trained to teach their new students. This can be their new students at a disadvantage. However, including a national curriculum will allow teachers to resume teaching the same way they taught in their previous state, when moving to a new state. They will still effectively teach the same material to their students, therefore will not put them at a disadvantage.

However, many say that by introducing a national curriculum, teachers will lose the creativity they have by not having a national curriculum. This is not true because many teachers can still implement their own way of teaching the standardized curriculum. A standardized curriculum in merely a plan. It is not a say all, be all way of teaching. It can be used as a guideline, but the way the information is presented to the students can be entirely up to the teacher. There is more of a benefit for having a standardized curriculum than not having it. Teachers will now be able to compare their students to other students in the nation, a national average. With this information the teacher can take the necessary approaches to ensure a student is learning the way they should be. If not, the student can be presented with extra measures/outlets to ensure they receive and understand the knowledge they need to succeed. If a student falls below the national average they can receive extra services to get the help they need.

Finally, by instilling a national curriculum, students will be able to learn the same things regardless of which state or part of the nation they are in, it will be cost effective for training teachers and the materials they need to teach and it can lead to a standardized knowledge which teachers can use to compare their students to students across the nation.