The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner has written an encouraging note to the manager of the Sunnyside Towers (st) regarding the positive results being obtain by replacing head showers in three of the building. However, the argument is not cogent enough since it is rife hole and assumptions.

Firstly, the resident mentions that the change is resulting in decrease in water flow to the building thus reducing the overall wastage of the water. but here, the writer presumes the only source of waste of water were the old shower heads. he has not mentioned any detail regarding maintenance condition of water pipelines, leakage of which would serve primary source of the loss. plus, it is not mentioned if there are any fountains or ponds available for recreational purpose in the compound, since these would also be contributing to the wastage as well.

Secondly, the writer states that new head showers are effective, but he himself weakens his position but informing no data is currently available regarding the water usage before and post replacement. Until the exact readings are shared, it will be too abstract to believe the view.

Thirdly, to support the idea, the writer is also presenting the financial perspective but he has not shared any percentage increase in the profit. also, he not shared any insight on what is the billing system of st. it is not clear if the management charges lumpsum amount from occupants against all utilities or bills are paid based on individual usage. if latter is the case, then it will be missing piece of puzzle that how the change been favourable to profit made by st.

Fourthly, the dweller claims that only limited complaints were lodged against this and so these are negligible. but no details are shared regarding the number of complaints that been received and what exactly is the challenge being faced by others.

Lastly, the writer proposes the same changes must be implemented to other building of st. this point falls short mainly because the case details of the three building of st is not shared and plus no further supporting evidence is presented for remaining twelve building. We are not sure if the complaints would increase if the project is extended. will this increase profit would be considerable enough?

it might be true restricting water flow to three building might have some pros but before this idea could be considered as successful and same could be planned for the other buildings, the management must factor the above queries.