To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic claims major characteristics of a society can be inferred from studies conducted on its major cities. This opinion stands true. The big metropolises are the heart of any society. The inhabitants belong to diverse geographical and cultural backgrounds. And as they migrate into the urban centers, they bring with them practices and norm. Thus, within the circumference of a big city, one can find the true picture of the entire culture.

Consider one of the largest cities of the world, Karachi-the heart of Pakistan. Citizens composed of native of the four provinces and descendants of immigrants from locations which are now part of india.

A walk-through of the food streets of the city, one will find wide food range. From ‘Nehari’ (meat curry) brought in by people of Delhi to ‘Kausay’ (noodles and curry dish) belonging to Indian Gujraat. From ‘Sindhi Biryani’ (spiced rice) to ‘Pehswari Kharhai’ (meat curry cooked with species and vegetables).

Same is the case with the language. The people are frequent in Urdu, the national language, with slight traces of Punjabi, Sindhi and Pashto, the regional languages, in the accent. while the reflection of colonial rule still exists with wide acceptance of english as another official language. almost as restaurants will have menu is English. Common words such as ‘fan’, ‘pen’, ‘paper’ and ‘exam’ are understood even by those who never formally studied the language.

‘Sari’ (belonging to india), ‘Dothi Shalwar’ (from Punjab) and ‘Lengha’ (from Lucknow) are readily available in the market. these dresses have originated in different cultural center. Additionally, since locals have influenced by western dressing; jeans, T-shirts and skirts are available in almost all the markets of the city.

Norms and values are clearly reflected from acts of the people. As some people are comfortable with freely mixing of opposite gender, while others might have reservations, some school offer separates classes for male/female students. The public buses have segregated compartments. some people host wedding receptions with segregation, while others have single big ball room for all the guests. people generally regard joint families, while some have begun opting for smaller units. these are clearly visible in each neighborhood. As drinking is generally considered prohibited, alcoholic drinks are rare.

considering how different aspects of a society, be it food, language, clothing or values can be summarized from microscopic view of a major city, it is absolutely true that the major urban centers are indeed holders of the characteristics of the entire society .