To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic claims one can infer the major characteristics of a society by studying its metropolises. The big cities are the cultural heart of any society. The inhabitants are from diverse geographical and ethicity backgrounds. When they migrate to their new home, they bring along their practices and norm. Consider Karachi-the heart of Pakistan. it is most populous district of the country. Citizen comprised of natives of the four provinces and descendants of immigrants from different locations which are now part of India.

The food streets offer wide range of dishes. From meat curry recipe, introduced by people of delhi, to gujrati noodles and curry soup. From Sindhi spiced rice to Peshawar’s special bread are readily available.

The influence of British colonial rule still exists. English is considered second official langauge. Almost all restaurants have menu listed in English. Common words such as ‘fan’, ‘pen’, ‘paper’ and ‘exam’ are understood even by those who never studied the language formally. Older part of city is home for Victorian architecture.

Norms and values observed can be observed from the lifestyle. As vast majority of population has reservations on freely mixing of opposite genders, the public buses have segregated compartments for female and male passengers. Since alcohol is considered prohibited in Islamic Republic, wines and beers are rare commodity in the city.

Sub-Continent had been house to various religions. Inhabitants of Karachi are Muslim, Christians, Paris and Hindus. The city is has been many Mosques, Churches and Temples. Various festivals are celebrated throughout the year.

Different aspects of a society, be it food, language, clothing, religious-diversity or values, can be summarized from microscopic view of its major city. The major urban centers are indeed holders of the characteristics of the entire society.