The following appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper:

In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the recommendation, and whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to determine the extent to which the recommendation is justified.

The director of the library is requesting for an extension is funds allocated for marketing to increase the visitors. but the content is not cogent enough since it is rile with holes.

The director has pointed out the popularity of library books since the its past and perspective patrons have turned to e-books. The first question that need to be answered is that if the softcopies of the books were not available, how many people would have preferred the library. is there any study with firm results to support the believe? it could be the buyers who are purchasing the ebooks are the ones who cannot really visit the library regularly due to hectic schedule, personnel responsibilities. distance constraints or health issues. if this is the case then basis of argument stands weak.

The reason the presented by the letter writer is for the people being attracted to ebooks over library is that the ebook sellers are indulged into better marketing techniques then the library. Thus they are pulling the masses toward soft-form of publications. Assuming it is possible for the clientele of ebooks to go the library otherwise, we need to understand details what has been selling point of these merchants and what is the library’s marketing team plans to tackle once their finances have been increased? what would be selling point of the library membership? how does the library plans to reach to the wider audience in more effective manner? is there a popular medium, such social media, that has not been utilized previously?

The director has requested for doubling the budget of the marketing team. Now increasing funding of a department by two times is a considerable change. The director must present his team’s strategy of utilizing the amount. An elaborated plan of the marketing campaigns must be shared before the authorities to justify the claim.

The decline of visitors to library and increased trend of electronic books can be observed in the society. but before any decision could be taken on the letter the response of the above queries must explored to the depth to understand the exact situation.