The following appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper:

In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the recommendation, and whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions help to determine the extent to which the recommendation is justified.

Though, it could be possible that doubling the amount on advertising will attract more patrons. But the author's argument is based on some unwarranted assumptions which can be evaluated. Due to the lack of evidences and facts, the author's argument seems little far fetched.

To begin with, the author assumes that the decrease in number of patrons is somehow related to purchases of the electronic books. But, what if there are some other profound reasons responsible for the reduced number of patrons in the library. For example, what if the patrons of the local area formed a social group and devoting most of their time to that group rather going to the library. If this is the case, then increasing the advertising funds will not help the library in raising the number of patrons visiting the library.

Another assumption made by the author is that if the more advertising will definitely attracts patrons. The author did not mention the habits and lifestyle of the patrons. For once, let just assume that decrease in number patrons in library is caused by the electronic books. There should be a reason for the popularity of the electronics books. Patrons can easily access these electronic books while being in the comfort of their home, as opposed to going to library for reading the book. May be the library is located at a remote area, we can not tell for sure. In that case also increasing the funds on the advertising will not help library in restoring the number of patrons.

In summary the author's argument is flaw in many ways due to the lack of supporting evidences and has no legs to stand for. The argument could be strengthened if the author clearly mentioned relevant facts.