An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Though it could be possible that the problem of deficiency of Vitamin can be solved with the efforts made by the government. But in this argument the author made some unwarranted argument which can be evaluated. One example is that, the author did not mention how much will subsidy is government willing to give. Is it 100%, 50% or 10% we can not tell for sure. Due to the lack of facts and evidences the author's argument seems little far-fetched.

To begin with, the author did not mention whether this newly designed millet goes through the human trials or not. Will it be beneficial to humans or not? Whether it will not lower the deficiency level of the Vitamin A further. What if it causes some harmful side effects. We can not tell anything for sure. This new millet might also works as intended but we cannot tell anything due to lack of relevant facts.

In addition to this, the author fails to mention how much subsidy government is willing to provide, price of the of millet and the economic conditions of the Tagus people. What if, government is providing 50% subsidy and people of Tagu are going through such a economic hardship that even on 50% subsidy they cannot afford millet. As a result of this, even after the measure taken by the government there is no assurance that the Vitamin A deficiency will improve.

Apart from all this, the author also assumes that Tagus people will readily accept this new millet in their daily diet. In this assumption the author fails to mention how similar is this new breed of millet to the regular breed. Is it same in color, texture or taste? What if, because this new millet breed is artificially engineered, it tastes different and people will totally discard it.

The author should have mentioned the similarity between these two millet to make his argument more compelling.

In summary the argument made by the author contains many open ends and can be argued in many ways. And in lack to supporting facts it has no leg to stand for. The argument could be strengthed if the author clearly mentions the relevant facts.