An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

At first glance, the argument seems cogent, however, after carefully thinking, we can find the article lacks more reliable evidence to prove the idea which makes it less persuasive. More research and statistics should be included to verify the hypothesis.

First, the author mentioned vitamin A lack can be found in Tagus but doesn't specify the deficiency level. Engineered millet to enrich vitamin A might cause another problem since millet is staple food in Tagus, it means that millet dominant a certain portion of their daily food consumption, people might end up consuming too much vitamin A which cause other health issues. Vitamin A is one of the steroid vitamin groups, which is lipophilic which can only digest and absorb with oil. It is in vain if people only have millet without any grease.

Another flaw of the argument is that engineered millet breed seeds cost more so that farmers will be paid subsidies if they grow the new variety. It might be attractive to farmers that they can get compensation but farmers need to take consumers' choices into consideration too. More evaluation of acceptance on engineered food should be made before planting the new variety of millet. Although no evidence shows bio-engineered crops are harmful to human there are still publics who claim to reject gene-editing food, this market reaction might be one of the factors that affect farmers' choices.

Last, there are many vitamin A supplements that consumers can choose from. Regarding more expensive of millet seeds, it will cause more expensive of the product. The price of staple food should be friendly to the public to keep their basic living needs. There's no data shows that how much will people buy for millet and how to keep it affordable to all families.

To sum up, the article seems simply vitamin A deficiency problem by engineered millet but how to make people accept or buy the new variety needed comprehensive evaluation. The author needs to provide more specifics as well as concrete data to verify that engineered millet is acceptable and affordable for people in Tagus before making the conclusion that the new variety can solve the problem.