Society should identify those children who have special talents and abilities and begin training them at an early age so that they can eventually excel in their areas of ability. Otherwise, these talents are likely to remain undeveloped. - GRE Issue 109

At first glance, the statement seems persuasive. I agree that everyone has their own talent in various fields. However, in my opinion, this statement goes too far by identifying those children at an early age. If this letter was followed, there's no human right at all, besides it might hurt the entire society rather than benefit it.

First of all, base on human rights, we should value every child in the same way, it's unfair to treated kids differently. Despite, how to decide or identify their talents at an early age? Life is like a marathon, every child has their own schedule, by training them separately my be a cause-and-effect. Their performance may be different because they are treated distinctively. If we separated those kids before they are fully developed, it might be a misjudgment. For example, a kid who shows talent in language at 3-year doesn't mean it will continue, he or she might end-up good at math a few years later.

Second, education should be citizen right, not exclusive to people we can afford it. Nowadays, a lot of parents send their kids to after schools and talents class for a better chance to get admission from a good university, it is a disadvantage for those families who cannot afford those courses and being behind kids from middle-class families. Regarding this phenomenon, the difference between rich and poor for this society will become bigger. It's already unfair under this after school system, we should not treat students differently in schools.

Last, talent doesn't mean habit. Children's thoughts matter, we should value their opinions too not making decisions for them. For instance, one might be good at computer science but not interested in coding at all, instead, he or she enjoys playing music. People usually work hard when they love their works. They might not show talent at first but they can do better after hard working.

To sum up, it seems reasonable that everyone focuses on their own specialty but it should not misplace that we should differentiate kids at an early age. It would cause lots of problems such as the psychological health of children since they're not happy and children from the economics difficulty will always be behind. It's not a value in an equal, freedom and democratic country in which we should stand up for underprivileged groups.