Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

While many people may argue that good grades encourage students to learn, but, in my opinion good grades hinder the ability of a student to develop as a better individual or a complete individual as a whole. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, grades are not related to the learning capability of a student. Good grades can be obtained in a subject even though the student does not have a good grasp on the subject. For example, questions in an exam comes from a limited curriculum and a students can achieve good marks simply by mugging up the entire syllabus even though he has a superficial knowledge of the subject. Additionally, many students can obtain good marks simply by malicious practice. In this case, getting the good marks is the only purpose and desire to learn something is not involved even the slightest. These type of students sure gets the good marks in schools or colleges but fails to perform in the real world. These above examples are true in my personal experiences. I happened to know many students from my school who are top scores but they failed in almost every interviews because of their perfunctory knowledge. So, in summary a desire to learn guarantees good score but vice-versa is not true at all.

Secondly, getting good grades in a particular subject sometimes circumscribes the student in that particular field only and stymies his need to pay equal attention to other subjects. We all know someone whose knowledge in a particular subject is profound but fails to answer even simplest questions of domains which are out of his interest. These students develop a penchant towards particular subjects which comes in the way of studying other subjects. For example, there is a friend of mine who has amazing grasp on Calculus and always obtain the highest marks in the class in that particular subject. But, when it comes to Political Science, he is a below average student in the class. We can say that sometimes good grades precludes a student’s desire to explore various subjects.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades has no relation with a student’s willingness to learn. This is because good grades can be easily obtained and prevents the student from exploring or learning various subjects equally.