Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Learning things is a skill and interest of person, which the person develop in its best way when they are interested without any pressure. However sometimes the catalyst student consider for learning is their grades and that give them more reason and enthusiasm to study further which i believe student don't carry for longer time. I will explain these points in below paragraphs.

To begin with, the reason we considered that grades can be reason for students learning that this is how our education system is working. From starting we see our report card, that we get after every exam and things genuinely mentioned in that is grades. If we have scored good marks them parents and teachers will appreciate and then only they consider that student as bright student without knowing the facts that may be the student had mugged up things. Then is the students feel like okay if this is how people will give attention to me then he/she may started studying harder so in this way grades make student learn more but this reason of studying won't be long term beneficial for students. For example hen i was in school , I have friend she always scored good marks , everyone appreciates her so much , she was example of our school. However i once casually ask what you want to pursue further she said dance I was bemused that time then why are you studying so hard and investing whole day on this instead you should give some hour in your interest. So then I realised that she was just studying for grades not for real learning.

To carry on above point we always see some people who have an enormous amount of knowledge but never score much marks, they only score as much is required for level up to next. These are the people who are studying by their choice and interest in their stream. They don't need the external influence to study harder. These people have to achieve in their stream become expert of their interest that's why they are studying. For example when I was studying for my graduation in Physio theray there was sometimes when I was not able to perform well because of some disturbance and that did not disappointed me because i knew that i know the answer and i am capable one, so I easily beat the test when I get back to mental peace neither it happened that when I scored top most rank in college that after that I started studying more. I remain consistent towards my study in both situation because I know these marks are fine but what remain with for longer time is the knowledge i am gaining from studying.

To put in nutshell I believe good grades can encourage students to learn but that learning is influential and won't remain consistent for ever. So the better reason for studying is self interest in stream.