Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Grades marks encourage students to learn Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Studying is an important factor of a student’s life. Therefore, there have been debates about whether grades encourage students to study more or not. I believe grading students is an efficient way to encourage them to study and learn. I will discuss my reasons in the following essay.

First, society is very competitive. By making students compete using their grades, they are introduced to the reality of the society we live in and will be encouraged to study so they are considered more successful than their peers. For example, if the rankings of the student body are announced, naturally the students try to have a higher ranking so they would feel accomplished and get praised by their families, which will encourage them to focus on learning. Concurrently they are introduced to the harsh reality of living in a society that is driven by results. Hence, they understand that getting good results is essential for living a successful life and will try harder leading them to learn better.

Second, grading can help students detect their shortcomings. By marking the students’ works the teacher points out their faults and encourages them to try harder in fields they are lacking. For example, a teacher in my school rarely checked our assignments or graded our exams. Therefore, we had no ideas about our mistakes and weaknesses we barely studied for any of the exams since they would not be graded and won’t affect our overall performance, which contributed to us studying in the last minutes before big exams. Since we had no ideas about our strengths and weaknesses we couldn’t study effectively. This led to half of the class getting low scores. Based on this experience I believe it is better to grade students to encourage them to study periodically and have a grasp over their academic conditions.

In conclusion, Grading allows students to compete, try harder in their studies, and will help them to understand their shortcomings. Therefore, I believe it is essential to grade students.