“Bayside citizens need to consider raising local taxes if they want to see improvements in the bay side school district. Test scores, graduation and college admission rates and a number of other indicators have long made it clear that bayside school district is doing a poor job educating the youth. Our school looks rundown. Windows are broken, bathrooms unusable, classroom equipment hopelessly out of date. Yet just across the bay, in New Harbor, school facilities are up-to-date and in good condition. The difference is money; new harbor spends twenty seven percent more per student than Bayside does, and test scores and other indicators of student performance are stronger in New Harbor as well.”

The writer believes the citizens of bayside citizens must agree to increase so that overall education system could be improved. However, the debate is not cogent enough since it rife with holes and assumptions.

The letter has claims that bayside is experiencing the alarming situation of drop of quality of education. he explains test scores, number of graduates and college acceptance rates have dropped. but, he fails to demonstrates any statistical data. We are not sure what percentage of senior students made into undergraduate schools and how many dropped out. it is unclear if the writer has factored other conditions that may have led to decline in the overall number. it could be the population of the city has dropped over the period of time, thus number of students to made into colleges also reduced. it could be the level of difficulty of the syllabus has been sustainably increased, thus student have to work harder to score in the test and so the class average turns to be lower than before.

Secondly, it has been stated the facilities available in the schools are in deteriorating condition. The windows and bathrooms are in dire need of repairing and classroom equipment needs to be replaced. While it understandable that restrooms are basic essentials and must be causing much discomfort to pupils, but to what level broken windows and obsolete equipment are hampering their studies remain unclear. is the weather cold and it is difficult to bear the chill breeze? Does the white boards have cracks that make them less readable?

Thirdly, the writer has brought the attention of the readers to the schools of New Harbor where the government is investing more in education and so the condition of the schools are much considerable. The writer makes some presumptions. First, since the schools are in better shape, they must have standard of education. The student must scoring well and most the final-year high schools student are being admitted for bachelors degree. No data has been shared with reader to develop better understanding. Second, the result of higher percentage of fund allocation to schools as due to high amount of revenue generated from tax. it could be this city has different priorities. Rather than spending of defense, policy maker might be spending it in education.

it could be possible the condition of schools of bayside have worsen. but need further details, to understand the exact case. There is no evidence shared in the letter it is ascertain that government will invest more in education if more tax is paid.