“Bayside citizens need to consider raising local taxes if they want to see improvements in the bay side school district. Test scores, graduation and college admission rates and a number of other indicators have long made it clear that bayside school district is doing a poor job educating the youth. Our school looks rundown. Windows are broken, bathrooms unusable, classroom equipment hopelessly out of date. Yet just across the bay, in New Harbor, school facilities are up-to-date and in good condition. The difference is money; new harbor spends twenty seven percent more per student than Bayside does, and test scores and other indicators of student performance are stronger in New Harbor as well.”

Based on dubious premises and insufficient evidences like the poor condition of infrastructure and lack of money investment is the factor of Bayside students poor performance, the author concluded that investing money by increasing local tax is the wayout from the situation.

First of all , the author raises an argument that for developing the bayside school district the district should increase the local taxes in the district.This weak and unwarranted suggestion does not provide a correlation between the fund for development of school and local tax increase.It would have been more profound if the author provides us the detailed running cost and the deficit they are having in the development in the school. There might be the case that district already have enough money but they does not allocate it properly for the school development purpose.

The argument also raised many unanswered questions like what is the background of the students? what measures been taken in the early semesters to improve the situation? is there any other reason behind this poor result or only the infrastructure only responsible for this? Without answering this questions, the reader may be left with a feeling that the conclusion made by the author are more of a wishful thinking than substantive premises.

The author provided the example of the New Harbour school performances and their expenditure details of each student.This premises also do not hold strong ground. As stronger is a relative word but we do not know the exact test scores and other indicators of that school. It would have been stronger if the author had provided the results statistics as well.And in which aspect this extra money is being invested that is also unknown to bayside school. Therefore, the conclusion made by the author is totally gratuitous.

Because the argument has made several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case of the investment of money is the only solution to Bayside school. To bolster this, the author should provide a more detailed study about the Bayside as well as the New Harbour school.