Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author brings forth the issue of the doubling of commutation time during the rush-hour and explores possible solutions. However, the argument is cogent and rife with assumptions. The entire discussion is based on complaints by commuters but the number of concerns lodged has not been informed. And also, we are not sure how many of them actually travel during the peak-hour.

The proposal of widening of the road has been rejected based on the case of Green Highway (gh). but it has not been clearly stated why this happened. There could be various reasons. The overall the vehicles on gh might have increased due to certain reasons. Or maybe a tracked might have been closed for maintenance work.

The introduction of lane for bicycles has been recommended and has been backed by the reason that dweller are inclined towards the bicycling but no statistics have been presented to support the statement. Again we not sure how many of them currently travel during the concerned slot. also, since the major problem is the time that is wasted due jams,the change of the mode of transported from fast paced motor-driven cars to mechanical cycles must be factored.

The traffic jam must be persisting stress to the residents.but before opting for any workaround, different aspects must be taken into account so that the concern could be addressed.