The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument talks about how to cut the rush_hour traffic on the Blue Highway between the subrubs and the city.Here the arguments state that commuters complained about the rush traffic which doubled their commuting time. The assertion may be true but seems to be exaggregated.Because the commuters may trying to lobby the authority to get a new lane immediately to the highway.Getting a new lane to the existing roads is cumbersome task, the more the pressure on the authorities ,more the pace of constructing a new lane . So the commuters might just exaggerating their assertion which may not be true.They failed to provide the evidence to support their claim.

The sentence saying addition of new lane of traffic resulted in worsening the situation of the highways seems absolutely quixotic.As the could be used to divert half the traffic thus reducing the entire traffic congestion problems the mentioned argument in the passage has no meaning at all.While the new lane may attract more traffic to come to highways,the overall problem could be attenuated.

The argument suggests adding a bicycle lane as a solution to reduce the rush hour traffic.As it was mentioned that most residents are keenly bicyclists.Adding a bicycle lane would never reduce the intensity of the problem.Also the situation might become worsen as all the cyclists are given a limited ,one lane and result in much more congestion in the bicycle lane.

The addition of lanes to a road is substantial solution only when the different sort of vehicles that would go through that road are uniformly distributed.Otherwise it is not at all recommended.Consider a situation in which more than 50% traffic comes from bycyclists then a separate lane for bicyclists will confine the space available to the bicycles and eventually turns the situation worst.

The solution for this would be usage of public transport.A public transport usage comes with many add-ons.It reduces cost of travelling,traffic on roads,time to travel(when most use public transport) ,fuel consumption and what not.I would say a public transport is far better than individual vehicles.Motorcyclists in pursue of thrill and in chasing time would choose motor cycles which create problems.So, one should try to use public transport only as many times as possible.