How do movies or television influence people’s behavior? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Movies and Television have become essential things in our lives. Irrespective of the class, whether they are rich or not, people are willing to spend a lot of money on both movies and television. I personally believe these things have influenced our lives in both positive and negative ways. I also believe that positive things are a lot more impactful than negative ones. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, both movies and television have become the primary form of entertainment for many. In the olden days, they used to be a luxury for people. But now, thanks to the advancement in technologies, they are affordable by almost everyone and are coming with much high quality. At the end of the day, everyone needs some kind of entertainment to relax their minds, and movies, as well as television, are exactly fulfilling this purpose. For example, a rich man can go on to vacations or pubs to get relaxed and entertained. Average middle-class people cannot afford such things and prefer to go to a movie or watch television. This has become a daily routine for many.

Secondly, we can get a lot of information from both the T.V and movies. News from around the world is being telecasted 24/7 in many channels, this can be really helpful to empower people with knowledge. Also, apart from fictional movies, many social and science fictional movies are being made to make people socially responsible and gain knowledge while getting entertained by movies. Like a famous saying goes: “We remember the things we see much better than things we hear”, movies can even help students to gain knowledge from them and remember it for a long time. My personal life experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in my 4th grade, one of my teachers named Priyanka, used to English to us by showing some youtube videos. Such practice had helped us do better in English.

Finally, there are some negatives effects coming from movies and television. Nowadays, Many movies portraying violence to an extreme level. I think this would provocate teenagers to indulge in wrongdoings. On the other hand, some news channels on T.V are preferring to telecast conflicting things rather than useful ones to make a good TRP out of it. Activities like these keep spoiling the minds of many youngsters as well as adults. Eventually, it will have a bad effect on the nation itself because when citizens are spoiled, the nation will also be. For instance, recently, when there happened some riots between Muslims and Hindus in India, some news channels had kept on highlighting the conflict instead of trying to telecast programs that would help to resolve it. Many youngsters were influenced by this and left homes to participate in riots.

In conclusion, I’m of the opinion that although both the movie and the television have pros as well as cons, the pros outweigh the cons. Proper measures should be taken by authorities to limit the negative impact.