If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Hometown is the place that always will be remembered in our hearts. Everyone wants to help the people of their hometown by doing some or other good deeds. Unfortunately, most people will not get the opportunity to do that. I personally believe, If I could change one thing about my hometown I would change the local leader who is very awful. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, our local leader has made many promises before the elections, and when he won he failed to keep up those promises. He never ever bothered about what he told before the elections. Sadly, some people couldn’t realize his true behavior and still supporting him. For example, the leader has promised to donate free land for housing to the impoverished, and now that after winning the election he is collecting money from people give them land. Though people are questioning him of that, he established a dictatorship in our hometown. This shows how cunning and unreliable he is.

Second, the local leader has no empathy for the people. A true leader needs to show empathy towards his fellow people and this will form an affection between them. On the other hand, the leader in our town is like a two-faced coin, on one face he managed to show off his gentle behavior, and on the other face, he is brutal. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During the last year’s summer, a house in my colony got fire and was turned down to ashes. The people of the house had nowhere to go and visited the leader’s house seeking help. The local leader had thrown them out of his house. He acted in such a pathetic way.

Finally, he has been consuming the funds released by the government since he was elected. The poor people of my town are turning into the poorest while the fortune of the president is growing like anything. For instance, when the state government had announced plans to develop the towns of our state and released lots of funds, all the towns received those funds and are now in better condition than before. But out town is not at all developed and all those funds have simply gone into the president’s pocket.

In conclusion, I would change the local leader of our hometown if I got the opportunity to. This is because he made fake promises, he has no empathy towards others and it is sure that the town is not able to develop under his rule.