If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would

you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Changes in city communities are necessary to improve the standards of people`s lives. Thus, if I had a chance to make one change to my city, I would definitely decrease public transportation fees. Specifically, I would propose to finance these fees directly from the federal government.

First, students do not have money to pay for public transport service. Students have low incomes to the extent that some of them cannot allow to buy clothing. A couple days ago I came across one article written by Michael Kavinskii and published on www.browser.com in December, 2020, which discusses the issue related to financial expenses of Alabama university attenders. The author says that 87 percent of Alabama students claim that a rise in transportation fees has become a burden to a monthly budget. The money spent on transportation converted to a real obstacle for most of learners of educational institutes. This article clearly states the reasonability in attending to the transportation fees charged from students.

Second, a lot of families cannot afford paying for high transportation charges looking for a nearby school for their children. Parents of average income in my city cannot afford a number of financial luxuries, including public transport services. Their reasons are explicitly stated in the statistics provided by Levada`s Moscow Research Institute in 2019. The findings demonstrate that 75.5 percent of respondents admit having asked for a financial support from local municipalities to cover public transport expenses related to school children, 20.5 percent of parents said they have had to relocate their children, and 4 percent of adults registered insignificant financial costs for their children attributed to municipality`s buses usage. The established statistics proves that some adults disapprove of financial expenses related to public transportation. It is explicit that forerunners will be at least for decreasing the costs of public transport for their family`s budget.

Finally, municipalities suffer from free-riders, the number of whom increased due to a rise in current fees of common transport. Most students and even employees easily use public transport, as the paying process is not controlled. Passengers are expected to pay with a transportation card touching the surface of an automated control device installed near the doors of a public transport vehicle. Because the paying process is not controlled , people use the opportunity to skip the pay for a bus. A month ago I watched an episode “Free family” from a British-production movie anthology “Black Mirrors”. Beside the main line of information technologies issue, the protagonist, a thirty-year-old young man, Tom, makes his best to bring home the bacon. In order to cut increased expenses, he does not pay for a bus using it for free. Besides, the condition of transportation vehicles showed is far from appealing. It is clear that money gathered from public transport users is not sufficient for covering maintenance needs. The episode shows that transportation fees of public transport is no use, because people, who use it free, will find the ways to continue doing it that results to the absence of funds needed for public transportation.

To sum up, making public transportation vehicles for free will improve the life standards of students, parents, and also condition of local budget. Thus, I believe that the decision to finance the costs of public transport tickets is one of relevant changes to implement.