The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager (bm) of a television station has presented the case of expanding the scope of news programs to include weather and local news. bm has provided her rationale but the letter is not cogent enough as it is rife with holes and assumptions.

since the previous year, the focus of the late-night news has been more on national news and less time has been allocated to local and weather news. As a result the channel has received some complaints, but no statistical data has been presented. it remains unknown how many complaints were received for each segment (which of the two is more on demand) and if the complaints were lodged by different viewers or some limited viewers complained multiple times.

Furthermore, it has been stated that the advertising contracts for late night news programs have been cancelled. but, feedback of these sponsors have not been explored in the letter so that the exact reason of ending of alliance could have been known.

Also, result of a market survey could have shed some light on the case. first, it can be understood how well the two segments (local and weather news) have been perceived by viewers to get an clear indication of popularity. second, it can be assessed if there has been declined in viewership since past one year due to less preference by channel to the two segments and more national news. Third, it be identified if there has been some other programs on a rival channels that is taking away the ratings and what are genre that are being offered in the slot.

Lastly, the write claims that to restore the lost advertising-based revenue, the two segments must be aired during all the news program. Now, this seems an over statement and presumptions is obvious for various reasons. first, we are not yet sure why the sponsorship has ended for late night show. will they be ready to sponsor other news shows as well? second, even if include the two segments in all the news slots, will channel be getting the rating? what are other channels offering in those hours? will these segments become popular during all the durations?

even though, it might be possible some viewer might be interested in weather forecast and news reports of local incidents, will concentrating more on this will be beneficial to the business or not remains dubious. Till all the aspects are taken into account, it is difficult to reach to any conclusion.