The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author claimed that the citizen of Forsythe have more healthful lifestyles. The argument seems to be some validity at the first glance, but we immediately found out there are several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments.

The author says that the recent survey show that people of Forsythe conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years. However, the author have to provide more evidence about this issue. It is possible that the circumstances have changed from the years ago. The nutritional recommendations established ten years ago cannot be same effectiveness now. For example,

Moreover, the author says that the sales of food products containing Kiran has been increase. Still, it is not to say that the citizens of Forsyth have more healthful lifestyles are because of the increase of this food. For instance, what if the increase of the sales of this food is for export? Again, the author have to provide more evidence to this assumption.

The author claims that this trend also reduced sales of sulid which a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat. However, what if the most healthy citizens do not that food just because of their predilections. For example, if the sales of sulid decreased just because of their higher price, it is possible that people did not want to buy them to eat. It is not to say that the decrease of the sales of sulid is because of this trend.

To sum up, the author would have to provide more evidence in detail to make valid assumptions he said. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that the citizen of Forsythe have more healthful lifestyles. All in all, if the author provides more precise evidence and mends the logical mistakes, then the argument will be more persuasive.