"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The argument recommends that people lived in northeastern United States can invest consolidated industries because of the demand of home heating oil. However, this argument rests on many unsubstantiated assumptions which need to explain.

The memo states that climate forecasters believe that the cold weather pattern will continue for several years. It may be true that climate forecasters can predict the weather. However, the author does not reveal enough background information of climate forecasters to readers. For instance, if these climate forecasters were done by college students, its credibility would be low, since they probably did not have precision instrument to do research and they might not have skill and experiences to face the problem. We need to know what kind of research method they used and how they did the research.

Even if the weather is getting cold in the future, the demand for heating oil may not rise as the author thought. People lived in there have lots of alternative methods to keep themselves warm. For example, they can buy the modern machine, such as new electric heater, or they can just stay at home and put on more clothes.

The author says that many new homes are built now because of the recent population growth, and the demand for heating oil will have a beneficial effect from this trend. A supposition here is that these people will live in this region for several years. However, it is possible that people will move to other cities or countries if they have their own problems, such as bankruptcy. In addition, another possibility is that the new houses owners may just want to keep their money in the property market and do not want to sell them.

Even if demand for heating oil is rising, it does not follow that we should invest in consolidated industries which major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. Since lots of people knew the weather is going to be colder than before, including the retail companies of heating oil, investment companies, and individual investors, they might have already bought the stocks before. Therefore, people would not have opportunities to make the profit from this trend.

To sum up, this argument depends on several critical but unproven assumptions that need to be addressed by the author.