Most homes in the northeastern United States where winters are typically cold have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures and climate forecasters predict th

In this article, the author recommended the investment in Consolidated Industires because the temperatures in northeastern United States will continue to be lower than normal ones according to cimate forecasters and more homes are being built in this area. However, there are some assumptions need to be valued before making such decisions.

Firstly, the author says that in last heating season, that region suffered 90 days with lower temperatures than normal years, and some predictions shows that such weather will continue for more years. The author assumes that with colder winter, people who live in this region will cost more oil for heating in the future. But this underlying assumptions are still doubtful. Lower temperature may not be related to higher usage of heating oil, if the heating machine only have constant working power and require limited fuel. Besides, the weather prediction may not correct. No one could predict future temperature precisely. If the weather becomes warmer than prediction, the need of oil will reduce.

Secondly, the author mentions that many new homes are being constructed in this area because of the population growth. The author tries to prove that more heating oil is required in those new buildings. However, it is unwisely to assume that new homes will require more oil-based heating machine. For example, if the owners of new homes still live in their previous buildings or seek for cheaper heating equipment, the sales of home heating oil will not increase and the conclusion will be useless.

Finally, even if the previous assumption is accurate, the suggestion of investment is not convincing enough. It is unreasonable to assume that the increased demand of heating oil will help the growth of Consolidated Industries business. If local people prefer to use oil sold by another brand, the increased demand is irrelevant to this company. Moreover, even if the Consolidated Industries takes an important role in the sale of home heating oil, we can’t assume that the company development is largely influenced by oil service. To make final decision, we need more data to analyze.

To sum up, although the author suggest investment in Consolidated Industries, we can’t agree with such idea before those assumptions being valued.