9. People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It has been a long-term debate in the humanity area whether humanbeings’ behavior is decided by their personal willingness or outside forces. Some may agree that people’s behavior is always controlled only by forces, but I think people can make their own choices.

It is reasonable to say that some movements of people are determined by forces according to the history. During the history, humanbeings would like to take same actions following others because they could only receive the information from single source, like government or church. As a result, outside force would deeply influence people’s thoughts and then use them to fulfill its purpose. For example, Nazi Germany used its media, education, and industry system together to unite their people and force them to invade other countries, which lead to the Second World War. At that time, only a few people took their own actions against such behaviors, which shows that people’s behavior is mostly controlled by outside forces.

However, as the time flies, the development of the media and Internet brings people more options of the information, which helps people to make their own decisions. During the long period of history, people were accessible to single source from local system. But the Internet makes it possible for people to read and learn others work around the world. Even if such information is influenced by other forces, the multiple choices of information will help people to learn and analyze these thoughts, and finally develop their own thinking. With the help of these methods, people are able to make their own decisions without the influence of outside forces.

The key issue here is how we define ‘determined’. From my point of view, the behavior determined by forces means that people follow the rules and guidance of outside organizations without thinking, or they make some dicisions following single source. The independent choices making is based on independent thinking, and the only way for humanbeings to form independent thinking is to get more information and then take self thinking.