Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

With the development of transportation around the world, there are more college and universities communicating with each other and sending their students to study in foreign countries. Although some people insist that it is necessary to force every student to spend at least one semester in a foreign country, I can’t agree with such idea.

It is true that studying in a foreign country is a good opportunity for students to experience foreign education system and enjoy different culture. Through at least one semester studying, students can not only find differences between their college and foreign one, but also communicate with students and professors who have been educated in a different way. As a result, after studying one semester in a foreign country, those students may have a better skill in communication and profound understanding in professional research. So, it is reasonable in some area to require students to take at least one year study in a foreign country.

However, not all students are suitable for an experience of foreign studying. Firstly, it is the language that prevents a large number of students from studying in a foreign country. In most of the cases, although students have passed language tests, they are not able to use the language as properly as the foreign citizens. Even if some countries share the same language, the problem of accent also causes misunderstanding in studying and communication, which may not easy to solve. Since the communication is not accurate enough, the efficiency of studying becomes doubtful. Besides, some students may not willing to go to the foreign country for studying one semester because of their personality. Foreign studying is not universally beneficial to every student, because such studying requires communication, self-learning skills and robust professional knowledge. The college and university should not force their students to take such long period learning, unless students are prepared for it. From my point of view, colleges and universities should consider the differences among students before forcing them to study in a foreign country.

The key to resolve such issue is how to improve students both language and professional knowledge properly. Some people believe that without the experience of international education, students can’t reach higher research level. But I agree that students’ personal learning skills and willingness should be considered first. With the development of online education, it is possible for students to get their international education without going abroad for at least one semester.

To sum up, some people believe that forcing student to study in a foreign country for at least one semester is necessary. But in order to help students improve themselves, I suggest that universities and colleges could just provide some foreign study program instead of forcing them to do such learning.