Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The passage says that the students in colleges and universities should study abroad at least one semester. It is true that spending time to study in a foreign country has a few benefits, but such recommendation cannot be generalized to all students because of different circumstances of each student and the characteristic of the certain majors in a particular country.

Admittedly, it would beneficial for students to spend at least one semester studying abroad. There may not be a better way to experience culture and people of the foreign country for students than studying in that country. While studying abroad, the students have to interact with the people of the foreign country and adjust themselves to its customs and culture. For example, a student who majors in Chinese literature should go to China, spend the time to study modern Chinese, and see how the language differs in the various regions of China. In the process, the student has to speak Chinese daily basis and encounter Chinese people whether he or she likes it or not.

First of all, however, not every student can afford the cost of studying abroad. If the school requires students to study in a foreign country, there may be a number of students who decide to drop out of school. For instance, if an American student studying Chinese literature was required to study in China for at least one semester, he or she has to pay more than $2,000 for sole airfare. Also, there are other expenses, such as room and board. While you are studying in your own country, you can work and study at the same time when you face financial difficulties. However, there are countries, such as the United States, not allowing international students to work while they are studying. When the school set up the requirement of studying abroad, it should consider the financial circumstances of each student.

Moreover, in certain circumstances, studying in a foreign country may be nothing but waste time and resources because of the disparity of scholarly levels. If an American student studies Engineering in Caltech, does the student have to go to another country to study Engineering? I would say no because there is no guarantee that the student is provided the same level of education in other countries. Colleges and universities may insist that studying abroad is for the good of students because the diverse experience is required in modern society. However, this is not something that the schools can decide especially for those studying certain majors requiring profound research for years.

To sum up, I do not agree with the author’s statement that college students must study abroad for at least one semester. Spending a semester or more to study may be a dazzling and profitable experience for college students; however, it should remain as the decision of individual because everyone lives under different circumstance.