"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

In this argument, replacing butter with margarine has insignificant influence on the customers. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the argument assumes that the majority of customers was satisfied with the change because only 2 percent of customers have complained. Yet, in order for the argument to be successful, it would have to ask whether 98 percent of the customer was genuinely satisfied by margarine. Most customers didn’t make complaining not because they liked the margarine but because they didn’t want to make any trouble. Moreover, they chose not to eat in the restaurant anymore rather than file a complaint about the change.

Second, the author states that a large number of servers has reported that customers who asked for butter didn’t complain when the margarine was given to them. However, this cannot be attributed to the satisfaction of customers regarding the change. It might be that some servers were too busy to report the customers’ complaints about margarine. It is also possible that sycophantic servers intentionally took out the report about the complaints because they didn’t want the managers to hear the bad news.

Third, the author assumes that customers aren’t able to differentiate between butter and margarine so that they cannot make a complaint about the change. However, customers may recognize the differences between butter and margarine and they don’t mind when margarine was given to them because they took the change insignificantly or thought that butter was out.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide compelling evidence for that replacing butter with margarine in Happy Pancake House will not impact on its customers significantly because it basically relies on the implausible assumptions described above. Since the argument does not present a reliable date on the change, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.