Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The author states that universities need to force all the students to take various classes even though they are not directly related to students’ majors. This issue is a controversial one because the claim may hold depends on the situations. For undergraduate students, it would be helpful to take a variety of classes for general education. For graduated students, on the other hand, it may be a waste of time and resources.

For undergraduate students, it may be beneficial for taking courses not directly relating to ones’ majors. Consider an adult who wants to change one’s own career from philosophy to engineering. Without a basic foundation of math or science, the person will face inevitably great difficulties. Besides, many inventions weren’t able to accomplish without a diverse background in arts and sciences. For example, Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple and the inventor of the iPhone, went to Reed College and majored in Philosophy. Although he didn’t finish college, he took several courses not related to his major such as Visual Design, which enable him to come up with brilliant ideas contributed to his inventions including the iPhone.

For graduate students, however, such requirement usually does more harm than good. Many graduate students have already lived in professional worlds for years. Even though they haven’t been exposed to the practical environment, students certainly have completed undergraduate education. What the graduate students want to achieve at the school now is a profound and focused research about the specific major. Additionally, the education of the graduate level is sometimes funded by one’s employer. For example, someone who works for the engineering firm manufacturing semiconductor goes to graduate school to study semiconductors with the financial support of the firm. It would not appropriate if the student takes a substantial amount of time to take literature courses.

In conclusion, diversified education seems beneficial; however, it is not universal. Undergraduate students need multifaceted foundations in a variety of fields. Nevertheless, graduate students require narrower approaches in their studies.