"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

The argument claims that companies should hire a person who can work with the sleep of fewer than six hours because the research showed that 300 executives in successful firms sleep only six hours on average. Also, the author asserts that sleeping no more than six hours resulted in higher profit and growth rate. It sounds reasonable at first glance, yet a closer examination of the argument reveals flawed assumptions resulting from weak or false reasoning.

To begin with, the argument claims that the researchers studied 300 people both men and women if there is any correlation between sleep time and success of their firms. And the study concluded that the people who slept less than six hours on average are more successful. It assumed that the average number of hours of sleep per night was the only factor of success. However, there are more factors related to the firms’ success other than how long people sleep per night. For example, one successful firm has a better shape in the financial status than others. It is also possible that the executives’ individual characteristics or ages have more influence on the firms’ success.

Furthermore, there are flaws in the process that the author generalizes the study into the practice. The statement maintains that the study rated 300 men and women who are executives in the advertising industry. First of all, it is questionable whether 300 samples are enough for this type of research or not. In order for the study to become more reliable, the bigger sample size may be required. Even though 300 sample is adequate for the research, it is not possible to generalize the conclusion into the various industries because the study was conducted on only advertising executives. Many executives work for the advertising firms may require sleep less and work longer; however, it may not be the case for other industries. Manufacturing industry may require its workers to rest enough time between the shifts. Lastly, since the samples were executives, it doesn’t seem reasonable to apply the same conclusion to the regular employees. In the short-term, it may look prosperous that all employees work hard even in the after hours. On the other hand, in the long run, the longer work hours can be the reason for the high turnover rate of employees and consequently, it will harm the firm’s fundamental value.

In sum, there is not enough evidence provided to support the correlation between the average time of sleep per night and the firm’s success. In order for the study to be worthwhile and reliable, the author would have to show that other factors are controlled except the average sleeping hours when the study was conducted, and the criteria of respondents such as positions and industries of the sample need to be diversified.