In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

The issue of whether the leadership needs to be changed after a certain period of time in order for any groups to succeed is a controversial one. It is true that indefinite leadership often causes many problems, but there are many cases require steady and consistent leadership. I disagree with the statements and believe that we can get a better result with long and stable leadership.

Admittedly, there is a saying, “Stagnant water is bound to rot.” It indicated that the leaders need to be replaced with new people once a while. Most leaders in history had good intentions and passions making the nations or the groups better; however, as they got used to the power and its privilege, they committed or got involved corruptions. For example, the current President of Bolivia, Evo Morales, is the first Native American President of Latin America. When he was elected as the President, he established and implement many policies which were friendly to the natives and the unprivileged people. During his second term, President Morales morally decayed and tried to amend the constitution to allow himself serving consecutive terms more than twice. Furthermore, despite the poor economy in Bolivia, the president pressed on with building a new presidential palace in 2018. He somehow maintains a relatively high approval rate; yet, President Morales is no longer considered as a decent leader.

Nevertheless, there is also a brighter side of longer leadership. For the larger groups, such as a nation, it is sometimes required that the leadership stays the same and consistent. Once the national policy is set up, it takes years to see the result. Besides, there are several times that the new leadership doesn’t want to succeed in the policies of the prior leader. For example, during the presidency of Obama, the national health care system was implemented, called Obama care, to ensure that no one in the United States lived without health insurance. However, once President Trump took the office, he has been trying to undo the Obama care. Even though the constitution of the United States allows two consecutive terms for the president, sometimes it is difficult to make significant changes in people’s lives. On the other hand, Japan doesn’t have the restriction to limit the consecutive terms for its leader, the Prime Minister. Although there are other problems in the political system of Japan obviously, the Prime Minister has the drift power to prosecute his policies.

Moreover, if leaders are allowed to serve within limited timeframes, they tend not to consider the long-term consequences but focus on short-term achievements when they make decisions. It usually occurs in the management of the corporations. When the board of directors appoints a professional executive as a CEO, he or she pays more attention to the business of which the profit is realized in the near future since the professional executive keeps the job only when achievements are visible. However, there are many stockholders who concern about the future of the company and the instant outcome is sometimes the trade-off of a long-term investment.

In conclusion, although the leadership may become decayed and corrupted as it keeps the power for a long time, the steady and consistent leadership may result in more benefits than problems. It may provide the leadership adequate time to implement the ideas and policies for the groups and consider the fundamental future instead of near-sighted accomplishments.