"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

In this argument, the manager of WWAC radio station asserts that changing the program format would increase its number of listeners. However, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the argument assumed that the majority of people moving into the area covered by WWAC don’t like to listen to rock music because they are older than the retirement age. Yet, in order for the argument to be successful, it would have to show that the majority of the new population consists of the older people over 65 and that they don’t want to listen to the radio channel plays rock-music. Besides, it is also possible that many people among the new population in the area don’t know the existence of WWAC, which plays rock music.

Second, the manager claims that decreasing sales in the record shops in the area indicates the absence of overall interest in music among the local residents. However, the claim is invalid for a few reasons. Recently, various types of music purchase are available. People can buy favorite music from the internet. Or they can just visit one of the streaming websites and listen to the music of own selections. Thus, the consistent decreasing sales in local record shops unsubstantially supports the claim of reduced interest in the music of local people.

The manager further assumes that a news and talk format would guarantee to bring back the listeners because the format is one of the trendy ones in the area. The problem with this assumption is that there may be other factors which the program in a news and talk style earns the popularity besides its format: The program is popular because of the radio host or the special guests attracts the listeners. Moreover, the manager additionally should concern the loyal listeners. If the radio changes its format, the loyal listeners would stop listening to the channel and fundamentally it brings another factor of declining in listener numbers.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence for the success of the changing format of the radio station because it primarily relies on the weak assumptions mentioned above. Since the argument does not present reliable data on the relation between new population and rock music, the correlation between the sales of local record shops and the interest in music, and the profound analysis of the reasons why the program in the news and talk format becomes famous, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.