The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station concludes in a memorandum that the channel should shift to a news and talk show format to increase listener numbers. This conclusion is based on the view that the new population moving into the area is retired people who are more interested to listen to news and talk shows over the radio. This argument by the manager may hold water, if not for the unfounded assumptions on which it is based. The manager should answer 3 questions before his argument can be tested for its viability.

Firstly, How can the he say that there is a decrease in interest in music? Nowadays, as more people as embracing the internet, people are buying music streaming subscriptions and music tracks online. Furthermore, local music sales are no longer the major and reliable indicator of interest in music. For instance, if 5 years ago, music stores in the area sold 1,000 CDs and casettes in a year and are now managing only to sell 100 pieces in a year but the sales of online music has skyrocketed with numbers reaching 1,500 in a year for that area, It indicates a maintained or even an increase interest in music. If any of the sceanoirs are true, then the assumption is severly weakened.

Secondly, How much interest do the increased population has in rock music? It may the case that the retired population coming in has more interest in rock music than the commonplace news and talk show format. Furthermore switching to the new format will mean losing the listeners with interest in rock music and not in other formats. If, either of the statemnts is true, it damages the assertitions supporting the conclusion.

Finally, How realible is the data ? The managers doesnot cite any data and it appears that his own biases may be preventing him from taking a more balanced approach to the issue. The increase in population may not be due to increase in retired people coming in but an increment in young population. The manager does not appear to use data to support his conclusion and this further damages the foundation of his conclusion.

The argument of the manager that the WWAC should change its from its existing rock-music format to a news and talk show one. This conclusion is considerably flawed because it’s realibilty on several unwarranted assumptions. The manager must answer the above questions and offer evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic study) so that the argument can be fully evaulated.