"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The author concludes that the decline in listeners is because of their current format of rock music which is not the taste of the new residents that have increased the popultion growth of that area where the wwac is broadcasted hence, the author suggests to change their show format, also as their has been a decline in sales of recorded music record he recomends it is better to convert it into news and talk shows.

The author reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology.

To justify the conclusion, the author reasons that the new transferred residents to the area are retired persons and they should change the whole format according to their taste to grab more listeners. however, on deeper scrutiny it is realised that none of the evidences provide credible support to the conclusion given by the author . hence, the argument can be considered incomplete.

First of all the argument readily assumes that the population growth in the area should be directly proportional to the increase in the listeners of the show. this is merely based on assumptions and no solid grounds.For instance, the population that has grown are not found of listing to such shows and channels they may prefer their own gadgets that give the taste of songs and other entertainment sources that they want hence, the assumption that the population growth should lead to growth in listeners of the show is not well stated and hence changing the format of the show wont help increase the listeners if the above example is true. hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the population that has increased have been surveyed and they are fond listing to shows like wwac then it would have been a well stated evidence.

the author also claims that the new residents that have been transferred are retired persons hence, to get more listener they should switch to the taste of music they prefer. this again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear relation with increase in number of listeners as there is no survey or data provided that the new transfers are really interested in these kinds of shows or they prefer other sources for that purpose hence it useless to change the format of the show without proper collection of information.if the argument provided evidence that the new retired residents are looking for the music they like then it would have been a better evidence.hence this evidence does a little.

Finally the author notes that the recent decline in recorded music suggest that people do not prefer music hence they should change the format to a talk show and news show to increase the listeners.however on careful scrutiny it reveals that this evidence is not useful. to illustrate lets say what if the new residents already have a collection of recorded music or the recorded music been sold is not prefered by the new residents hence, the decline in music records have been noticed thus, relating decline in music records to changing the format and assuming the new residents prefer news and talk show is irrelevant and useless this would not help increase the listeners of the show. therefore the author needs to provide convincing evidences to the reader to support the conclusion nor the reader is left with the thinking that the authors claims are made more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidences.