The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The statement asserts that the general welfare of its people is the most important criteria to determine the nation’s greatness. First of all, I do not believe that there is an absolute way to evaluate how great the country is. In order for the country to be great, it takes enormous efforts from various people. Therefore, it is hard to generalize that either the general welfare of the citizens or the achievements of the specific individuals are the most important indication of a great nation because the society does not consist of completely isolated sections.

In a point, the nation exists for its people. We can measure how well the country is developed by the welfare of its citizens. For example, there is a small country, Brunei, located on the island in Southeast Asia. This country is fully funded because of the large oil reserves. People of Brunei can go to school and see a doctor without concerning about the costs since the government covers all the expenses. Furthermore, the nation fully supports its students who want to go study abroad. With all these benefits, there still are people who haven’t heard about this country. Also, because there are controversies about Brunei such as human rights or male and female inequality issue, it is contention whether we can label Brunei as a great nation.

Sometimes, people think that the nation is great for what its rulers accomplished. Great political leaders govern the nation in accordance with one’s beliefs of what is best for one’s country. Moreover, the beliefs of the rules do not simply stay inside the state but eventually have a strong influence on the entire world to become a better place. For example, Abraham Lincoln, as the president of the United States, led a movement for the emancipation of the slaves which marks an epoch in both American and World history. Although the movement triggered the Civil War between the northern and the southern states and the war drained the country of its men and resources, America had become the nation values the constitutional freedom more than anything and Lincoln was named on the list of the greatest leaders.

Additionally, the invention of a great scientist not only glorify one’s name and the country but also improve the public’s quality of life. Innovations in science and engineering are directly related to the general welfare of its people. For example, during the time of the industrial revolution, James Watt of Britain invented the steam engine, which changed the paradigm of the manufacturing industry. The innovation freed the people from simple, tedious, and time-consuming tasks and let them do more creative and valuable work instead for a relatively short time. Thanks to the great invention by James Watt, Britain had developed faster than any other countries in the 19th century and become the strongest and richest country in the world for a few decades.

To sum up, I do not agree with the author’s statement that the welfare of the general public is the surest indicator of the great nation. On the contrary, every aspect of the country is interconnected: science can change the entire system of industry and political leader’s policies may have a great influence on everyday life. When everything comes together, we are able to see the nation as a whole and decide its greatness.