"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

This argument asserts that augmenting demand for heating oil is expected for the next few years in the northeastern area of the United States where winters are typically cold because the weather forecaster predicts that harsh weather conditions will continue during winter and numerous new homes are built in the region. However, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, it is assumed that the tradition of using oil for heating will continue. It is possible that the demand for heating oil increases significantly during winters for the time being. If the demand went up with a steady supply, the price likely increases. With rising oil price, people will find alternative fuel such as natural gases or even woods. In this case, the heating consumption will not continue to increase and the sales price oil will decrease.

Moreover, the weather forecasts do not necessarily represent what is going to really happen during the next few years. It may be cold as predicted, but there is a chance that it would be warm due to global warming. Since the climate changes are most arbitrary and capricious, no forecaster can predict the weather condition in a few years later. Even with the advanced technologies of the present, it is not surprising that today’s weather does not agree with the forecast of yesterday. Thus, what forecasters say about the climate in the region after years cannot be strong support for the author’s argument.

Finally, the statement maintains that numerous new homes are being built for the incoming population who would use oil as a fuel for heating in winters. However, it is hard to conclude that people live in the new houses still use heating oil because new homes may come with many innovations such as a new heating system using gases or electricity. Unless the investigation is conducted about what type of heating systems is equipped with new homes, the fact that new homes being constructed in the region will not be the logical ground of the prediction.

In sum, there is not enough evidence to provide to support the author’s prediction about the demand for heating oil in the northeastern United States. In order for the prediction to be worthwhile and successful, the author would have to investigate about the market trend of the heating oil price along with alternative fuels, historical weather trend of the region for last 10 or 20 years, and the detail information about the new houses’ heating system.